Four-Point Approach® is a registered trademark of the National Trust for Historic Preservation

The Small Town Division of NC Main Street program was started to address the growing number of small, rural towns that need downtown development assistance but are not likely, due to size or resource limitations, to pursue the regular Main Street program. In 2009 the Town of Wilkesboro was accepted by the NC Small Town Main Street (STMS) program as a STMS community. The STMS program is no longer accepting new communities into the program; however, Wilkesboro is an active community in the program. Selected communities receive on-site technical assistance from the Small Town Main Street staff for the 4 point approach to the program:  

  1. Promotion
  2. Economic Structure
  3. Design,
  4. Organization 

From a series of meetings with the public and their input for their community, a group call the Small Town Main Street (STMS) Committee was formed. The STMS committee is responsible for the revitalization and long term planning of the future of downtown Wilkesboro. The committee’s goals include beautification of Main Street and creating sustainable economic development. 

NC Main Street LogoNational Main Street logo

National Trust for Historic Preservation,® Main Street® and Four-Point Approach® are registered trademarks of the National Trust for Historic Preservation.